top of page

From kinder to first grade and all the feelings along the way.

So here's the real deal . If you're a seasoned mom, I feel like you have the obligatory "I should warn all of the kinder moms that they are living the dream"... literally, living the crayon-filled, sticker obsessed, playground is all that matters best life! Because let me tell you something. Although I am an extreme, EXTREMIST in "I don't like any changes." This kinder to the 1st-grade situation was wild. And sadly, not for my 6-year-old, but for me. This kinder thing was a total breeze. I wish I knew then. Isn't that something we all say? I wish I knew then what I know now. I think that's something I say more than I'd like to admit. But the truth is, if I knew then what I know now, life wouldn't be ....life. Amiright? It wouldn't be the crazy wild ride that we are all riding. I mean kinder was easy. It's your first year, so like, who cares which class you're in or what teacher you have. You don't know any better Then, it happens. You connect with parents, your kids make friends and you fall deeply in love with your teacher. Then, with the blink of an eye. It's over. What??? No, wait! I want a do-over. I enjoyed it, relished in the moments. But, I want more. Ok, ok. Then next year, can I have the same entire class in the same class. Oh, and can the teacher that was our teacher now be a first-grade teacher??? Wait, what? No??? Ok, then, hold him back. I mean he's a young kindergartener, he can do another year. Oh, no? We can't do that either? Ok.... first grade, here we come. I can do this!!!! Summer comes.... we live it up. Act like kids. Bedtime? What is that? Wait, shit. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner? Haha. That is a thing of the past. Ok. Here were go. The night before first grade. Yay! We get our teachers. <text your mom friends...... you know, the ones you connected with last year>

not. one. of. them. have. the same. teacher.

Ok.... ummmmmm. "It's ok Rania," I tell myself.

Then, it's the first day of school.

"Oh hi! How was your summer?" to every single mom friend you have. You know, the ones who aren't in your class anymore. Quickly, look for your sons class. Wipe your nose... because, you know tears. "Bye baby! I'll be here to pick you up. I LOVE YOU" I watch him go into his class, excited. I walk out. Sad. Fast forward a few hours later. Time for pickup! YAY! "Hi, babe! How was it?" He had fun. He likes his teacher. He knew a few kids. He met a few new ones.

Everything was fine. Everything was more than fine, he was thrilled about all of it. He didn't care that he didn't have class with his old friends, he told me "It's ok mom, becauswe I will see them on the playground!" This was a lesson for me. The first week of school was a lesson for me. It's not about me and what I want. It's about my kids. Just because I don't like change, doesn't mean he won't either. It's my job to teach him how to adapt. He doesn't need to have the same exact kids he had last year to be in his class, because he'll have new kids in his new class and he'll make new friends. He doesn't need the same teacher as last year, because he will need to adapt to a new one. The drop off doesn't have to be in the same class, because he will get used to his new class. All the things that scare me, don't have to scare him. I don't want them to. I want him to know that he can adjust to any situation, and he will be fine. It is my job to get him ready for this great big world. Huge lesson for me. And I think it was purposeful from the great man upstairs. Saying "He will be ok. And you will too" And here we are.

2 months in.

And truthfully, I couldn't be happier with his situation. His class, his teacher, his new friends and his old friends. All of it. I am proud of him for adapting so well and proud of me for only crying for the first 2 weeks. 😂 So, if your reading this and you're about to go into Kinder, consider this my "I am now the seasoned mom who owes you this obligatory advice" Enjoy it. And I mean Seriously enjoy it. Because 1st grade is a different ball game. Trust me.


bottom of page